HOW TO PREPARE AUDIO FOR VINYL?

Preparing audio for a vinyl record is not as complex as it sounds (translation from french in progress) 

All the sound information is contained in only two grooves: one for side A & one for side B. Nothing more. Each frequency is represented by more or less ample movement that the playback stylus will make when the disc is on the turntable. The bass take up a lot of space, while the treble creates very fine movements up to more than 20kHz. All the frequencies are thus represented: within a bass line wich undulates slowly, the snare drum or the voices will apply smaller excursions that the playback stylus will try to follow. Not all phono cells have the same ability to follow every detail. Very high-end - and very expensive - cells will be able to do it perfectly well, while the vast majority will track the groove a little less precisely. The role of mastering - and before that of the mix - is to maximize the rendering of playback with any cell.  


If the mix is intended for several supports (CD, streaming, vinyl ...), no need to do one dedicated to vinyl, it is the mastering step which will take care of making i compatible. There are still some special features to take into account, and if you integrate them into the mix, mastering will be all the more effective.


TIME IS THE KEY

This is the first to be taken into consideration. The 12, 10 or 7 "discs will determine the duration that we can reproduce. See the FAQS for playtimes, depending on the size chosen. Basically, it will be necessary to sacrifice volume and / or sound quality for longer times.

ABOUT THE BASS 

If the first discs appeared in the 1950s were not very heavy in the low-end, it is almost impossible to imagine a song today without it. And that's good, because vinyl is able to reproduce very deep and powerful bass. But as these physically occupy a lot of space, if their frequency is too low (less than 40Hz), they will force the stylus to make large movements, risking to get it out of the groove, and preventing reading, by jumping, or by failing to read the other frequencies correctly, causing distortions, or "tracking" errors.

Disque vinyle avec des basses
sillon de disque vinyle avec des basses profondes

A stereo that is too wide will further increase the space required to cut them, and will decrease the time available on each side. By tightening the stereo only for these frequencies, we will be able to burn more, with better rendering. Below 300 Hz, we prefer mono, below 150 Hz, it is essential.

So that your songs are rich in bass, be sure to tighten them well, to filter almost everything that is before 40 Hz, and to pay attention to phase problems.


WHAT ABOUT THE TREBLES?

The medium and treble are very well reproduced on disc, it is in this frequency band that expresses the warmth of the vinyl, the listening comfort. The only thing to remember is that their best reproduction is at the beginning of the disc, where the speed of playback is the higher. Prefer for the last, quieter songs, a little less strong, rather than the "in your face" which will prefer the beginnings of face.

ABOUT THE PHASE

Another important feature is that of the phase. What happens when two signals are "out of phase"? The result becomes weaker, until the extreme case where the signals can cancel each other out. This results in a groove by its narrowing, even its disappearance. It is therefore impossible to cut signals out of phase. The problem is particularly important at the bottom of the spectrum, where phase shifts can drastically reduce the depth of the groove, and again pose tracking problems.
So be careful on your kick, bass, or any other instrument that tickles the bottom of the spectrum, to respect the phase alignment.

BE VIGILANT WITH SIBILANTS

The RIAA transformation which is applied in a standard way on all vinyl records & which will be "decoded" by your phono preamp during playback, sometimes over-represents the sibilants which can appear aggressive. Be sure to process your voice tracks and overheads well, the deesser must accompany you. If it is still possible to treat this problem during mastering, it is preferable to anticipate it in the mix, in order to apply surgical treatment on the only tracks that are problematic. Once the mix is made, the deesser will necessarily affect the rest of the sound content.

BE CAREFUL WITH THE DISTORTION

For the same reason as the sibilantes, the distortions will be most of the time accentuated once the sound put on vinyl. If these are not desired, be sure to check them before the mastering step. If they are part of the artistic intention, know that they can be slightly more marked.

WHICH HEADROOM FOR YOUR MIXES?

For the mastering  to be effective, the peaks must be between -6 and -3 dbFS. Beyond that, the dynamic reserve is weak. The use of a limiter to lower the level of a loud mix to -3dBFS is not recommended: it does not give any additional dynamics, and does not allow effective mastering. For 7 "discs it is preferable not to exceed -4dbFS.
It is important to respect this dynamic reserve, otherwise the mastering engineer will not be able to optimize the audio content correctly. It can be counterproductive, including for the final level of your songs, to mix them louder than -3 dbFS.


ABOUT THE RMS LEVEL

This one has little importance, since it will not be the same once on vinyl. The recording time will determine the final level: the shorter it is, the louder the disc will sound. If you followed the advice below, the engineer who will be responsible for cutting your lacquer can cut it louder than if the stereo in the bass is wide, there is a lot of sibilance. When viewed under a microscope, overlapping grooves create tracking problems and jumps. To cut at a high level, you must reduce the duration of the recording (eg the Maxi 45T). There will then be enough room for the strongest modulations to be transcribed.

For a 12" 45RPM maxi, the available space is the same as for an LP, for often two or three titles. This allows to soften the constraints of volumes or stereo, at the cost of less time available on the cake ( 7-9 minutes vs 19-22 minutes).

We can prepare your audio for you

PRÉPARER LE SON POUR LE VINYLE

Préparer l'audio pour un disque vinyle n'est pas aussi complexe qu'il y parait. 

Toute l'information sonore est contenue dans deux sillons: un pour la face A, un pour la face B. Rien de plus. Chaque fréquence est représentée par un mouvement plus ou moins ample que va faire le diamant de lecture lorsque le disque tournera sur la platine: les basses occupent beaucoup de place, tandis que les aigus créent des mouvements très fins jusqu'à plus de 20kHz. Toutes les fréquences sont ainsi représentées: au sein d'une ligne de basse qui ondule lentement, la caisse claire ou les voix, vont appliquer de plus petites excursions que le diamant de lecture va s'efforcer de suivre. Toutes les cellules phono n'ont pas la même habileté à suivre tous les détails. Les cellules très haut de gamme - et très chères - vont pouvoir le faire parfaitement bien, tandis que la grande majorité des cellules vont "traquer" le sillon un peu moins précisément. Le travail de mastering et avant cela celui du mix, est de maximiser le rendu de lecture avec n'importe quelle cellule.


Si le mix est destiné à plusieurs supports (CD, streaming, vinyle...) il n'est pas strictement nécessaire d'en faire un dédié au vinyle, c'est l'étape de mastering qui se chargera de le rendre compatible. Il faudra tout de même prendre en compte certaines particularités, et si vous les intégrez au mix, le mastering sera d'autant plus performant.


LA QUESTION DU TEMPS

C'est la première des contraintes à prendre en considération. Les disques de 12, 10 ou 7" vont déterminer la durée que nous allons pouvoir reproduire. Voir les FAQS pour des temps indications en fonction de la taille choisie. En résumé, il faudra sacrifier du volume et / ou de la qualité sonore pour des temps plus longs.

LA QUESTION DES BASSES 

​Si les premiers disques apparus sur le marché dans les années 1950 étaient assez peu fournis en basses, il est quasiment impossible d'imaginer un morceau aujourd'hui sans. Et çà tombe bien, car le vinyle est capable de reproduire des basses très profondes et puissantes. Mais comme celles-ci occupent physiquement beaucoup de place, si leur fréquence est trop basse (moins de 40Hz), elles vont forcer le diamant de lecture à effectuer des mouvements de grande amplitude, risquant de le faire sortir du sillon, et d'en empêcher la lecture, en faisant des sauts, ou n'en arrivant plus à correctement lire les autres fréquences, provoquant des distorsions, ou des erreurs de "tracking".

Disque vinyle avec des basses
sillon de disque vinyle avec des basses profondes

Une stéréo trop large va encore augmenter la place nécessaire pour les graver, et va diminuer le temps disponible sur chacune des face. En resserrant la stéréo seulement pour ces fréquences, on pourra graver plus, avec un meilleur rendu. En dessous de 300 Hz, on préfère le mono, en dessous de 150 Hz, c'est indispensable.

Pour que vos morceaux soient riches en basse, veillez donc à bien les resserrer, à filtrer tout ou presque ce qui se trouve avant 40 Hz, et à faire attention aux problèmes de phase.


ET LES AIGUS?

Les medium et les aigus sont très bien reproduits sur disque, c'est dans cette bande de fréquence que s'exprime la chaleur du vinyle, le confort d'écoute. La seule chose à retenir est que leur meilleure restitution se trouve au début du disque, là où la vitesse de lecture est la plus grande. Privilégiez pour les derniers, des morceaux plus calmes, un peu moins forts, plutôt que les "in your face" qui préfèreront les débuts de face.

LA QUESTION DE LA PHASE

Une autre particularité importante est celle de la phase. Que se passe-t-il lorsque deux signaux sont "hors phase"? La résultante devient plus faible, jusqu'au cas extrême où les signaux peuvent s'annuler. Cela se traduit sur un sillon par son rétrécissement, voire sa disparition. Il est donc impossible de graver des signaux hors phase. Le problème est particulièrement important dans le bas du spectre, où les décalages de phase peuvent réduire drastiquement la profondeur du sillon, et encore une fois poser des problèmes de lecture. 
Soyez donc vigilants sur vos pistes de kick, de basse, ou de quelqu'autre instrument venant titiller le bas du spectre, de respecter l'alignement de phase.

SOYEZ VIGILANTS AVEC LES SIBILLANTES

La transformation RIAA qui est appliquée de manière standard sur tous les disques vinyles & qui sera "décodée" par votre pré-ampli phono lors de la lecture, sur-représente parfois les sibilantes qui peuvent apparaîtrent agressives. Veillez à bien traiter vos pistes voix et overheads,  le déesseur doit vous accompagner. Si il reste possible de traiter ce problème au mastering, il est préférable de l'anticiper au mix, afin d'appliquer un traitement chirurgical sur les seules pistes qui posent problème. Une fois le mix réalisé, le déesseur affectera forcément le reste du contenu sonore.

MAITRISEZ LES DISTORSIONS

Pour la même raison que les sibilantes, les distorsions seront la plupart du temps accentuées une fois le son mis sur vinyle. Si celles-ci ne sont pas souhaitées, veillez à les contrôler avant l'étape de mastering. Si elles font partie de l'intention artistique, sachez qu'elles peuvent être légèrement plus marquées.

QUELLE HEADROOM POUR VOS MIX?

Pour que l'étape de mastering soit efficace, le fichier doit moduler entre -6 et -3 dbFS. Au delà, la réserve dynamique est faible. L'utilisation d'un limiteur pour baisser le niveau d'un mix fort à -3dBFS n'est pas conseillée: elle n'apporte aucune dynamique supplémentaire, et ne permet pas un mastering efficace. Pour les disques 7' il est préférable de ne pas dépasser les -4dbFS.


A PROPOS DU VOLUME MOYEN DE VOS MIX (RMS)

Celui-ci n'a que peu d'importance, puisqu'il ne sera pas le même une fois couché sur vinyle. C'est la durée d'enregistrement qui va déterminer le niveau final: plus elle sera courte, plus le disque pourra sonner fort. Si vous avez respecté les quelques conseils ci-dessous, l'ingénieur qui sera responsable de la gravure de votre lacque pourra la graver plus fort que si la stéréo dans les basses est large, qu'il y a beaucoup de sibilantes. Vus au microscope, les sillons qui se chevauchent créent des problèmes de lecture, et des sauts. Pour graver à un  niveau fort, il faut réduire la durée de l'enregistrement (ex : le Maxi 45T). Il y aura alors assez de place pour que les plus fortes modulations puissent être transcrites

Pour un maxi 45 de 12", la place disponible est la même que pour un LP, pour souvent deux ou trois titres. Ceci permet d'assouplir les contraintes de volumes ou de stéréo, au prix de moins de temps disponible sur la galette (7-9 minutes vs 19-22 minutes).

Vous pouvez nous confier vos mixs pour que nous nous occupions du mastering